Raabta

When you go to sleep at night

Do you miss the way I sounded. 

Like a decade old wine had come undone 

and was pouring itself out in every being of you. 

Do you miss the way I touched your shoulder 

And said your name 

and told you I hated you and never meant any of it. 

I sometimes go back to the time of 4 am laughter 

And you leaving the room when I entered. 

It’s hard for me to understand what you were to me. 

For I was more than a friend but never anything else to you.

I guess I knew that it wasn’t anything remotely close to love- contrary to popular belief. 

It was as if I knew you. 

And I have known you. 

A recognition running deeper than facades 

and words 

and experiences. 

A sort of memory penned down 

and forgotten 

but slowly forming the face of a mirage. 

It was as what they call an “almost” to love.

A connection but with all the wires mismatched. 

Atleast for me. 

-Pratz 

(If you would like to read more such poetry, subscribe to the blog by going to the homepage and scrolling to the very end and then clicking the subscribe button. This way you will never miss an update. Cheers 🙂 ) 

Leave a Reply

